Copic Certification Class, Ft. Lauderdale

So I’ve been going back and forth about whether to set the tone of this blog as business or personal, I finally thought to myself… well, why can’t it be both?

I wanted to share my adventure in Copic Certification. First thing to understand, we’re a Tampa Bay Area based business. Being on the web makes us world wide, but as far as day to day activities, Christian and I rarely ever travel outside of Pinellas County. So Fort Lauderdale? Aaaaaallllll the way on the other coast. Our brains instantly processed the words: ROAD TRIP!!!

We intended to leave fairly early Sunday morning… those of you that have toddlers and infants of your own know that the best laid plans…. We finally got on the road Sunday around 2 pm. Just in time for the rain to start coming down really hard. For some reason, our Garmin didn’t take us through Alligator Alley like we anticipated, which we were kind of bummed about. The last time we had seen Alligator Alley we were on a motorcycle in a lightning storm, but that’s another blog. Instead we took a lovely tour of some middle-of-the-state rural towns. I wasn’t in charge of any of the driving, which is the way Christian likes it, so I wasn’t in charge of the gas. Christian got a little nervous when all of the quaint little towns started to thin out and we only had 1/8th of a tank. No worries, we got through ok, but we had to gas at Citgo. Paying $3/gallon for gas irks me, but paying $3/gallon to a lunatic like Hugo Chavez REALLY irks me.

We arrived safe and sound any way, and enjoyed a nice dinner at Tijuana Flats and a bed time which did not include the ritual reading of “Where the Wild Things Are.” Alarm goes off! Bing! Wired right away because that means it’s almost time for Copic Class!! Head to Starbucks *grumblegrumble* to get Christian some morning java. Then its finally time!

We arrived and I can’t tell you how impressed I was by “the other Colleen” (meaning Colleen Schaan, www.distinctivetouches.com). The room was set with… FABULOUS Copic kits! FABULOUS literature! FABULOSITY IN GENERAL! Christian’s response: Huh? Oh, cool.

The “other Colleen” talked for the first part of the seminar and told us all sorts of wonderful product specs and secrets that would have been impossible to learn elsewhere. Like how come Copic Ciaos have airholes in the caps. (Apparently, kids are the same all over the world. Japanese grade schoolers have a habit of putting these marker caps in their mouths, airholes in the caps lets them breath until someone rushes over and does the heimlich.)  Don’t get worried, I also learned actual product awesomeness, which I am totally prepared to share over the next few weeks.

Lunch. More fast food, arteries clogged another percent or so. Then… PLAY TIME! I got to doodle my little heart out yesterday, and I had a blast!!  Truthfully, I actually surprised myself with how fast I really fell in love with it all yesterday.  I confess, it was only a half hearted love affair until then. Mia culpa. Guy (our AMAZING artist who does our Manga and Fine Art at CMS,  www.protoguy.org if you want to see his other cool stuff) will be really happy that I learned that I can’t just send him 10 random Copic Sketches that I think look pretty. We even got to play with the Copic Airbrush system. I can’t post my initial reaction here, because, well, I have to be semi-professional, right? Just think of an extremely animated me using extremely animated expressions of pleasure.

Then it was the end of the day and as Emeril would say; BAM! I was Copic Certified! I can now teach the masses about Copics. No one should have that amount of power. I kid, I kid.  I even took my picture with “the other Colleen”, but alas, I look so horrible in the picture that I won’t post it.  Drive home. Alligator Alley for sure! No rain… and guess what! I even saw some alligators. Now I’m home. I’m ready to rock. I’m ready to help everyone else rock. Life is good.

About gallifreycraftingcompany

I love and train flying monkeys, color with copics, scrapbook what I color, read like a fiend and enjoy every minute of it. I'm a New Yorker that sought better weather, and I enjoy crafting outside by my pool and walking the beach.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Copic Certification Class, Ft. Lauderdale

  1. colleen says:

    OMG… it’s got to be the name! LOL I’m SO glad you had a good time… I had a blast – and you all were such an amazing audience… so nice to me and my lame jokes! 🙂

    Please keep in touch… I’m going to start stalking.. er…em… checking out your site! 🙂

    Hugs!

    • copicmarkerscrapbooking says:

      Your jokes weren’t lame! They made it fun! Thanks for reading and keeping in touch!
      Hugs!

Leave a Reply

