Defying Gravity

Confession: I am a big geek. Confession two: I haven’t colored anything since high school. Most terrible horrible awful confession: I hate stamping.

Now that I’ve got the entire paper crafting community crazy mad at me, let me explain a little. I love to scrapbook. I love to cut and glue papers and photos and embellishments, and I love to create things. I usually have to do it on the fly as I have two little girls that love to play to mess up…err… play with my supplies. Anything that involves ink is sure to become a stain on my rug or an outfit I have to throw out. Quandary: I am in love with Copics… and do not like to stamp. I would like to use them for more than just distressing pages and embellishments.

Two Words: Digi Stamp!! Downloadable coloring pages! Et viola, I’m in business!

The first thing I wanted to do was color Elphie. For those of you not in the geek world… or living under a rock, Elphie is the Wicked Witch of the West from the Wizard of Oz, or more recently, the main character of Greg Maguire’s “Wicked” (a book I loved soooo much that when I worked for Barnes and Noble I pressed it into the hand of anyone that would let me drag them to the display).  Apparently, there’s also a play. 😉

So I downloaded a witch digistamp. She was pretty cute. The end result when I was done with her? Not as cute as what I had in my head. Here she is:

First attempt at defying gravity...

Not quite what I had in mind.

The lines were blurry because the copy machine in my office (which I used to heat the ink into the paper so it didn’t smear when I colored it), didn’t give me the clearest lines. Then I realized that her hair being black would just be too much black, so I turned her into Elphie Sr. with gray hair. Mistake.  Overall, I wasn’t pleased with  my results.

I wasn’t even going to post her. I was just going to file her and think of something else. Then I remembered what actually happened in the book Wicked. Nothing the real Elphie did ever came out right either. Despite her best intentions, things continuously got screwed up. She tried anyway, and she made a difference. So, even though she’s not so great, there she is… and I have a plan to make her better.

My fabulously talented friend Guy has agreed to make me an Elphie digital stamp. If I whine, I mean, ask nicely, I’m sure he’ll even give me a hint about coloring her. I’m excited about Elphie, but I’m really excited that we’re actually going to start producing our own digital stamp line!

We’re going to give away a free digital stamp weekly via our newsletter, so if you haven’t signed up visit us at www.copicmarkerscrapbooking.com to register for our free newsletter!  I’m hoping to get this project up within the week, but err… sometimes real life gets in the way.

Here’s what you can do to help: Let me know what kind of stamps you want to see us create and we’ll get on it! You can leave a comment here or email it to me at hurricaneheron@gmail.com.

About gallifreycraftingcompany

I love and train flying monkeys, color with copics, scrapbook what I color, read like a fiend and enjoy every minute of it. I'm a New Yorker that sought better weather, and I enjoy crafting outside by my pool and walking the beach.
This entry was posted in Digital Stamps and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Defying Gravity

  1. Debbie otero says:

    I must be living under a rock. Mostly I don’t know what you are talking about. “will you be “normal
    blogging” ? lol. I wouldn’t mind a basket stamp though.

Leave a Reply

