A Funny Story About the Last Time I Stamped.

Angry email senders… I’ve got ya. I hear ya. I don’t really dislike stamping. It was a joke…  Please read about my last stamping experience and THEN judge my preference for digital stamps. (Please keep in mind the following two words when reading: True Story)

I’m a brave person. My husband was at work for the day,  I was home with my kids, then aged 2 1/2 and 3 months, and they were napping sweetly. I figured “Hey, let me get out the supplies and scrapbook some pages about my little cherubs! What’s the worst that could happen?”  I took out a few pictures… a few pieces of card stock, some appropriate embellishments… and you guessed it, the ink pad and stamps. The stamps were cute, I believe they were 7 Gypsies, and they had fantastic birds and scrolls.

All was going well for about 45 minutes. Then the baby started to cry. So, guess what I did! I went and got her and made her a bottle, leaving the stamp pad wide open on the table. Bottle feeding commences, and my little darling isn’t so little. She’s in the 86th percentile for her age, and she likes to eat. I see the stamp pad open, and figure it can wait a few minutes. I sing to baby. I look up and see white cat sleeping on my ink pad. I can’t stop feeding the baby, or she will unleash her inner banshee. I make all sorts of threats to the cat, who ignores me because well, he’s a cat.  Finally, there’s a break in the bottle feeding.

I chase the cat OFF the ink pad. He leaves, with a nice magenta ink smear on his belly.  I then try to pick the cat hairs off with my hands. I even had a moderate amount of success. I hear my toddler getting up and she’s screaming bloody murder for apple juice. Napping is thirsty work. Her screaming wakes the baby, who wants to know where the heck the bottle is and why did I put her down in the first place?!  So, I snap shut the ink pad. I then pick up the apple juice cup, forgetting there is ink on my fingers, the ink then smears on the toddler cup and I don’t notice. I hand it to my toddler, who gets the ink on her hands and doesn’t notice.  I pick up the baby, and the bottle.

 I then proceed to give the baby the second half of her bottle. My toddler begins screaming very loudly that her fingers are bleeding. I panic and jump off the couch, startling hungry baby. Hungry baby screams. Ahhh, the joy of children screaming in unison. I then look at her fingers and see dried magenta ink. I try to explain what happened, but she doesn’t care because her fingers are a shade of red and red means blood.  I show her my fingers, she screams in absolute horror. To recap, I now have a cat with an ink stain on him, my own fingers are  covered in ink, a toddler cup has gotten some ink, and my toddler has been inked. Did I mention there was screaming?

I calm everyone down, finish baby’s bottle and proceed on to changing her diaper. I return to my toddler playing with the ink pad on the table. Just for kicks, she’s put her face in it. Fantastic. It was even more fantastic because it was my fault for not putting it away. As I’m putting the baby in the swing, my toddler is figuring out how to smear the cat hair filled ink pad onto my half done scrapbooking layout.

Cleaning up was a hoot.

So… now hopefully I’ve done two things: 1. I’ve given you a decent laugh for the day. 2. I’ve helped you understand why I personally like digital stamps which can be printed out and colored in with my Copics a little more safely in my home environment. (It also helps that my toddler cannot get the caps off of my Copics before I can catch her.) I did and do like stamping. I will one day get back to it.

Another cool little thing: I was published in Toilet Paper Entrepeneur Blog the other day! If you have a small business and you haven’t read it, it’s a great resource, check it out!

PS The magenta has long since worn off the cat’s fur.

About gallifreycraftingcompany

I love and train flying monkeys, color with copics, scrapbook what I color, read like a fiend and enjoy every minute of it. I'm a New Yorker that sought better weather, and I enjoy crafting outside by my pool and walking the beach.
This entry was posted in Stamping and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Funny Story About the Last Time I Stamped.

  1. RoseInineeCew says:

    Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, Satellite Direct Tv

  2. Dee says:

    I just about peed my pants reading and laughing. What a good reason to put the ink pads away for a while. By the way did you save you layout?

    • Colleen says:

      Are you kidding!? I had to erase the evidence before Christian got home from work or I would STILL be getting teased about it! Good thing he never reads my blog!

Leave a Reply

