I’m a Manga Newbie

So, once upon a time, I worked for Barnes and Noble. Other than my current gig at Copic Marker Scrapbooking, it’s been my favorite job ever. One of the things in my beloved fiction section was… Manga. Books that open backwards. Large numbers of teenage kids that sit in the section and leave piles of books on the floor. A new release in every series every five seconds, and they all need to be shelved ASAP.

As you can tell, I was bit intimidated by the Manga world. I must confess… I was arrogant paper crafter. I assumed that these wonderful folks in Japan made fabulous Copic Markers just so I can create custom scrapbooking embellishments and color in the occasional stamp or two. I hadn’t even given Manga a thought (forget about the architects that they REALLY invented them for). Then Guy came on board and kind of looked at me like I was a little crazy, and I said “Why, this time?”. He let me know that Copics have a wider use in the manga world (I’m holding out for us, Paper Crafters! We can catch up!) So… I decided anime might be worth a gander… and shockingly, just like when I finally tried broccoli, I discovered I like it!

One of my all time favorite books is “Memoirs of a Geisha”, so, this little geisha felt like a safe and welcoming way to give anime coloring a shot. Plus, I get to use fantastically bright pinks and purples that I normally wouldn’t in most of my projects. Here she is:

She's my first anime girl!

I love the RV02, RV04, RV06 blend in her hair

So that’s my little foray into the manga world. I’ve got several return trips planned. It’s a relief to finally be done with all of the Tinkerbell projects that had been requested. Though, speaking of Tinkerbell, our fairy coloring contest only has two days left! If you were planning on entering, get coloring!

About gallifreycraftingcompany

I love and train flying monkeys, color with copics, scrapbook what I color, read like a fiend and enjoy every minute of it. I'm a New Yorker that sought better weather, and I enjoy crafting outside by my pool and walking the beach.
This entry was posted in anime, Copic Markers, manga and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m a Manga Newbie

  1. protoguy says:

    Pretty awesome! Love the purple 🙂
    The highlights in the hair look great and I like that your shadows aren’t too dark. Keeps the image ‘light’.

Leave a Reply

