Copic Art for the Sake of Growth

These are the last of the fairies from me for a while. I’m plum fairied out. I’m excited about our fairy coloring contest coming to a close tonight. No, I don’t know who won. Guy is going to commandeer my blog this evening and post who he has chosen as the winner. (If you haven’t visited Guy’s blog, you’re missing out! http://protoguy.blogspot.com)

One thing bothered me about the contest though. There was a submission that I thought was well colored, but the picture itself was… not my cup of tea. I’m not judging the contest, so what I think really doesn’t matter, but it bothered me that I was so critical of someone else’s hard work. Our motto at Copic Marker Scrapbooking is “Create, Grow, Endure”. Creativity should lead to growth, and I realized that creatively, I’m generally in my comfort zone of cutesy stuff. Even my latest foray into Manga has been into the light and fluffy stuff. So, today I decided to look for something that I normally wouldn’t color and work on it. Here’s what I came up with:

My walk on the wild side..

Not my usual type of project, but I did challenge myself.

I got the image here: http://seneschal.deviantart.com/art/Nine-Fairies-Please-Steal-Me-9671799?offset=0#comments  I imagined these slightly scary fairies came from something like Shakespeare’s “A Mid-Summer Night’s Dream” or one of Tolkien’s faery stories like “Smith of Wooten Major”. My favorite fairy in the picture is the girl on the upper right with the bluebell hat.  Another aspect that I enjoyed was the great variety of color I was able to incorporate into the picture. It was a good experience….

All in all, it’s safe to say that I’ll probaby be sticking with Tinkerbell.

About gallifreycraftingcompany

I love and train flying monkeys, color with copics, scrapbook what I color, read like a fiend and enjoy every minute of it. I'm a New Yorker that sought better weather, and I enjoy crafting outside by my pool and walking the beach.
This entry was posted in Contests, Fairies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

