Digital Stamp Tutorial: Resizing and Combining Stamps for a Unique Image (Plus a Freebie!)

In this tutorial I’m going to show you some of the unique strengths of digital stamps. Using photo editing software (I am using Photoshop CS), you can not only alter the size of your digital stamp, you can combine them to create custom images.  I am using our Tropical Paradise line of digital stamps, which if you fall in love with like I did, you can get from our website www.copicmarkerscrapbooking.com .

So, here you can see I’m starting with three separate digi stamp images: Three separate digi stamps

I am going to combine them into one single image scene. I’ve created a blank canvas sized 11 x 8.5 (standard letter size) with a resolution of 300 dpi.  First, I will drag the image of the table and chairs onto the blank canvas. Next, I will drag the tropical drinks onto the new canvas… uh oh, they’re a bit too big for the table! So, using the transform function, I’m going to scale them down and center them on the table.

Drinks on the table!

Next I’m going to drag the shell on to the picture canvas, and resize them. I am going to duplicate the layer, and rotate the shells to  be different angles, so they look as if they’re naturally positioned in the sand.

Now that you’ve got the general gist, you can add as many different images in as many different positions as you like!  To complete the picture, I added a palm tree and some extra shells. Now, my tropical paradise is ready to be printed (on a laser printer preferably, to heat set the ink) and colored in with Copic Markers. Then I can add it to a scrapbooking layout or greeting card! My mom taught me to share, so here’s the completed picture for you to print out for your personal use. Happy coloring!

My completed back scene

I wish I were there now...

About gallifreycraftingcompany

I love and train flying monkeys, color with copics, scrapbook what I color, read like a fiend and enjoy every minute of it. I'm a New Yorker that sought better weather, and I enjoy crafting outside by my pool and walking the beach.
This entry was posted in Copic Markers, Digital Stamps, Freebie, Stamping. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Digital Stamp Tutorial: Resizing and Combining Stamps for a Unique Image (Plus a Freebie!)

  1. sucotenord says:

    Great tuto and final image Colleen! I’m reserving the other drink for myself 😉

  2. Colleen says:

    Is that you Ninon? Virtual drinks on the house!

  3. Ninon says:

    Yep, that’s me 😀

  4. Debra says:

    Thanks so much for the tutorial and the freebie. Great job.

    Debra (dj1952)

  5. Vickie says:

    Thank you for sharing! I love it!

  6. marykay weaver says:

    great post. I dont have photoshop but will this work basically the same way in any photo editing software?. I have “Paint” I think all computers come with the free version of it. I can resize with it but have never tried to combine pics.

    • Colleen says:

      Hi Marykay! I think every digital photo editing software worth it’s salt should be able to handle this. I’m a “dabbler” at best with Photoshop, so if I can do it, anyone can!

Leave a Reply

