Tutorial: Chip Board Album Distressed with Copic Markers.

Evening everyone! This year my mother turned 50. Her birthday is the day before mine, and it is a tradition for us to celebrate together. This year for her birthday I made her a special album to commemorate our tradition. The chip board album is a bird cage from Maya Road, the paper is Crate Paper. All of my supplies came from Posh Scraps, excepting the Copic Markers which came from err.. my own store. LOL

I started by gluing the paper to my album (some type of glue stick or liquid adhesive works best).  I then cut it out with my craft knife to get the perfect shape.

You might notice that the top of the bird cage is a little intricate. I didn’t think I would get it to match evenly if I papered the reverse side, so I colored it with a Copic Wide Marker, color E33. I intend to go back and add some more Copic artwork later.

Once I had papered all of the other pages, I used my sanding tool kit from Basic Grey to smooth out the rough edges left from the craft knife.

The hole at the top where the jump ring will hold the album together is a little too thick for a conventional hole punch. Not a problem for the cropadile. You could try and cut it out with the craft knife, it won’t look as smooth though.

After all of that, I went in again with my Copic Markers, both the Wide and the Sketch, still colored E33. I used them to distress the edges of my paper.

Next, I added my pictures (all of me and Mom!). I used XPressIt double sided tape. It’s the newest release from Copic parent Imaginations, and it is AMAZING. You get much more for your buck than regular scrapbooking tape, and it holds much better! I used it to secure my pictures to the mounting paper, and then to the album.

After I was done securing all the photos, all that was left was too embellish, which is obviously to taste. I personally prefer a lot of salt. Okay, rotten joke, sorry. Any way, some ribbon, some flowers, some embellishments and ba da bing! Here’s the finished product:

Chipboard albums are some of my favorite projects to work on. I don’t know exactly why, but they’re a little more fun to me than traditional scrapbooking layouts. I hope you enjoyed this tutorial, go create something!

About gallifreycraftingcompany

I love and train flying monkeys, color with copics, scrapbook what I color, read like a fiend and enjoy every minute of it. I'm a New Yorker that sought better weather, and I enjoy crafting outside by my pool and walking the beach.
This entry was posted in Copic Markers, Paper Crafting, Scrapbooking, tutorial. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tutorial: Chip Board Album Distressed with Copic Markers.

  1. I used your lovely owl image from last week, or was it the week before? Anyways, it can be found on my blog, here: http://joyfullycreative.blogspot.com/2010/10/new-beginnings.html

  2. jojo says:

    c est genial merci ta maman a du etre contente bises jojo

  3. Dee says:

    This is so super cute, I love how you used the Copics to distress, do you get any bleeding when your doing edges or have you noticed? I think what’s really funny is I’m working on a mini album too. School pictures of my daughter. I’ll show you pic’s soon.

    • Colleen says:

      Nope, no bleeding, it’s actually a little neater and more controlled than using distressing ink. Can’t wait to see your album!

Leave a Reply

