Show & Tell and Other Ramblings.

Okeydokey… Good Morning! I’m here blogging at 6am before coffee because… well, because… either I’m crazy or I enjoy the only time of day when my house is quiet. I wanted to show you some of the things I worked on this weekend. I’m trying to learn to draw and color Manga, something new for me to do with my Copic Markers. I bought a book last week, it had a bunch of manga images on a cd in it. I colored two images, because both of them spoke to me.

Copic Marker MangaFirst, I love chibi manga- it’s so cute! Next, I picked her because she’s a representation of what I want to be when I grow up. 😉 She looks confident, her clothes are spiffy and her hair is straight. I am envious of anyone who doesn’t have to spend half an hour with that Chinese torture device called a flat iron. She’s even wearing high heels!

Next, I colored her:

copic marker chibi mangaI colored this one because she’s more my real style! Her hair is curly and messy, her clothes are every day and she’s got sneakers. She’s also losing her papers out of her pink book… I have been known to carry a pink folder full of digital stamps, sketches and doodles, and I am often losing things out of it and running around like that.

Now, I’m not as hard on myself as I sound, I actually have a point. In my head, even on the days that I don’t flat iron my hair, I’m the girl in the first picture. It doesn’t matter if I look like the girl that’s a little more disheveled. Being the confident, spiffy girl is a mindset, and I can choose to be her whenever I want. I can decide. Think about that, because it’s profound. You can choose to be who ever you want to be.

Ok, life lessons with Manga is over. If you made it through, congrats! You get a sneak peek at what we’re making in our Free Online Copic Classes this weekend!

Beginner Copic Class is making a version of this card:

Copic Marker Greeting cards

We're going to use a different color scheme, but same balloons.

Intermediate Copic Class is going to learn techniques for coloring this turtle, as well as several other digis:

If you haven’t signed up, there’s still some time. Email me at hurricaneheron@gmail.com. Classes are free and online. Beginner is 10/9/10 at 11am est, Intermediate is at 1pm on the same day. Yes, you can take both classes at the same time.

Alsooooo… last thing, promise…. we’ve still got our sentiment contest going on. Details are HERE. There are five freebie posts, so check them all out and decide which sentiment you want to use. Last day to get them in is October12th.  Have a great, creative day!

About gallifreycraftingcompany

I love and train flying monkeys, color with copics, scrapbook what I color, read like a fiend and enjoy every minute of it. I'm a New Yorker that sought better weather, and I enjoy crafting outside by my pool and walking the beach.
This entry was posted in anime, class, Colleen's Rambles, copic class, manga, online copic class. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

