Quick and Easy: 5 Minute Greeting Card

A friend of mine asked me to make a card to accompany a gift she plans to send to celebrate the upcoming birth of a baby girl. Like all good friends do I said “No problem, I got this!”… and then I promptly forgot to “get it”. Sound familiar?

So when the text message rolled in asking “Will that card be ready tomorrow morning?” I inevitably panicked, as I was knee deep in a toddler bed time war, I wanted to catch a little bit of Dancing With the Stars, and the sink was piled with dishes. Did I mention my alarm goes off at 4:30 am?

I knew a Copic colored card was totally out the question, so I rifled through my supplies, and put this cute card together in five minutes. Believe it or not, Copics were included in the prep. Here’s the card:

5 Minute Quick and Easy

To create the card, I took glitter paper (Target- $.99 for 2 sheets!) sized it and mounted it to the greeting card. I then cut out a plain piece of card stock and distressed the edges with Copic Marker E37 (faster than if I had pulled out the Distress Ink). I applied a rub on transfer (from my stash, I don’t know who made it), and then mounted it to the glitter paper.

I took some little blings, they were clear but I wanted them pink, so I colored them with Copic Marker RV09 (faster than digging through my stash for just the right match) before mounting them on to the card. A little twine, a flower and a button, a couple of clicks with the Tiny Attacher et viola! It’s actually taken me longer to write this blog post than to construct the card! I hope this gives you a little inspiration for those situations where you’re in a time pinch! Have a creative day!

About gallifreycraftingcompany

I love and train flying monkeys, color with copics, scrapbook what I color, read like a fiend and enjoy every minute of it. I'm a New Yorker that sought better weather, and I enjoy crafting outside by my pool and walking the beach.
This entry was posted in Colleen's Rambles, Copic Markers, tutorial, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Quick and Easy: 5 Minute Greeting Card

  1. marykay weaver says:

    awesome. that is a cute baby card. All the cards you make are good. thanks for sharing. I need to figure this blog posting pics n stuff out so I can put some of mine up. Oh yea, “Happy Halloween” to everyone

  2. Absolutely adorable, cant believe it only took 5 minutes. I bought the same glitter paper at target, used it once and put it away. How in the world did you get anything to stick to it? I swear I ended up stapling a piece of paper to it and then putting stuff over the top, lol.

    • Colleen says:

      I used Scotch Quick Dry Adhesive, it didn’t seem to give me a problem sticking. Of course, that’s the only time I’ve used the glitter so far… and come to think of it, I did use my tiny attacher to hold the twine to the card, so that might have helped give it stability. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

