Tutorial: Constructing a Multi-Layered Fall Wreath Greeting Card with Copic Markers

I love this fall wreath image that is part of our Thanksgiving Digi Stamp Set. Even though I knew I should be working on our Christmas Stamps, I couldn’t help creating something with this.

I started with our wreath digi (it’s available in our store):

I printed and colored in two images. I took my time with the image on the left. I used Copic Markers E31, E33, E35, E37, E25, E29, Y26, G94, YR14, YR16, YR18, R29, R59.  I did not shade the image on the right, I just colored it in with the darker colors.

Next, I cut out both wreaths. After I had cut them  out and removed the center, I used my craft knife to cut out individual leaves on the detailed wreath. I then popped those leaves up to give the wreath a 3D feel.

I secured the basic shaded wreath to my greeting card, and gave it some love with my atyou Spica glitter pens.

I then used some foam mounting squares and layered the detailed, 3D wreath on top of the basic wreath. I made sure to line it up very carefully. I also gave it a lot of love with the atyou Spicas, but for some reason it never shows up in the pictures. I finished embellishing, et viola! I have a beautiful, multi-layered greeting card. It’s one of my favorites that I’ve made!

About gallifreycraftingcompany

I love and train flying monkeys, color with copics, scrapbook what I color, read like a fiend and enjoy every minute of it. I'm a New Yorker that sought better weather, and I enjoy crafting outside by my pool and walking the beach.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tutorial: Constructing a Multi-Layered Fall Wreath Greeting Card with Copic Markers

  1. Dionne says:

    I love, love,love it. You did an awesome job. Cutting that out was no small feat, because that’s the first thing I thought about and then changed my mind. Me and my exacto knife are still working out our issues.

    • Colleen says:

      Ahh.. you know, I didn’t think to include it in the tutorial, but I did 95% of my cutting with my scissors. I used my craft knife to cut a circle in the center of the wreath, then stuck my scissors in there and cut out around the leaves. Some people love their craft knives… I am with you though Dee, we got issues. LOL

  2. carla says:

    Very clever! ……Like!!!!

  3. Charmaine says:

    Colleen, very cool. I know this had to take some time.

  4. marykay weaver says:

    ewwww yea i must say that is up there on my favorites of yours too. I love layered cards. lets you know the person really put some time and care into your card. thats an awesome card. Dont know if I’d have the patience for all that but I am learning patience in the art world. you have to have to make good art projects,.
    Love N Patience.
    thanks for sharing your card with us all

Leave a Reply

