Mixed Media Canvas and A Digi Freebie

Many of us are on a budget this Christmas, so I’ve come up with a quick, fun and lovely craft project that’s easy to create and beautiful to give. Here’s what you’ll need:

Pre Stretched Canvas, smaller works better.
Copic Various Ink in Colors of your choice
Clean sponge (you can use one kitchen one and cut it up)
Photos (optional)
Embellishments
Distress Stickles Rock Candy by Ranger Ink (optional)
Ribbon
Xpress It Tape
Vellum Sentiments
Copic Colorless Blender Solution in a spray bottle

Here’s how you start:

Drip some ink onto your sponge and apply it to the canvas. You can use the sponge to create different textures, or to blend ink colors together a little more smoothly. For an extra distressed look, you can drip the ink right onto the canvas. After the ink dries a little, you can spray it with the blender solution to give it a distressed look. Here’s what one of my canvases looked like after it was inked.
After that, you can decorate to your heart’s content. I’ll explain under each photo how I embellished the canvas.

Mixed Media Copic ProjectFor this canvas, I added three pictures of my children, secured onto the canvas with Xpress It double sided tape, that stuff sticks to ANYTHING!! I doodled the trees and leaves with my Copic Markers, E37, E29, G82, G85.  I also doodled a little Y17 in the corner to give it a sunny look. After that I added die cut embellishments. I took the Y17 marker and made little dots coming down from the bees. I covered the dots with the Distress Stickles for some sparkle. I also added the stickle to the leaves. I added a ribbon at the bottom et viola!

This one is a little stocking stuffer for my sister. I added the centerpiece embellishment, and some paper flowers secured with a brad. I doodled the leaves and flowers with Copic Markers G82 and RV34. I added some Distress Stickle dots around the curves of the centerpiece.

This last one is my favorite. It just looks warm and sunny, just like hope feels. I secured the vellum sentiment with Xpress it tape, and colored the side with Copic RV34. I then added the Distress Stickles to the edge. I doodled the vine and leaves with Copic Markers G82 and G85. I added die cut embellishments, and then added a ribbon to the bottom. I drew dots with Copic RV34, and then covered each dot with the Distress Stickle for shine. Perfect present for my grandparents from my kids!

I hope you have fun and enjoy the different things you can do with your Copics! If you’d like to create your own embellishments, here’s a fun freebie or two to get you started!

About gallifreycraftingcompany

I love and train flying monkeys, color with copics, scrapbook what I color, read like a fiend and enjoy every minute of it. I'm a New Yorker that sought better weather, and I enjoy crafting outside by my pool and walking the beach.
This entry was posted in Copic Markers, Digital Stamps, Freebie, Mixed Media, tutorial. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Mixed Media Canvas and A Digi Freebie

  1. What a great way to use canvas, Colleen! Thanks for the freebies and Merry Christmas!

  2. Dionne says:

    Colleen these are absolutely beautiful, and you gave me an ideal. They have a product out called sticky back canvas and you could use this ink technique on a card or other things. Your flying monkeys are so cute:)

  3. Peggysue says:

    These images are great-thank you!!

  4. Judy says:

    Great images. Thank you for sharing. Happy Holidays to you and yours.

  5. Danielle says:

    Your projects are gorgeous!! Thanks so much for sharing them. I will definitely be checking out the double-sided tape. Been holding off, but if it works that well, I may need some! LOL

  6. Babygirl says:

    Very nice images.. nice post

  7. SuzAnn says:

    such a classic rose! tfs

  8. I love these, thank you so much hugs Cathy

  9. Kelley says:

    Great canvas projects! I wish I had bought some the other week when they were on sale at a local store.

    Thank you for the images. It is going to be fun to practice my blending on the rose.

  10. Mungo says:

    Thanks for these two lovely images

  11. Jill says:

    Beautiful work. Thanks for the images. I especially love the rose.

  12. Pingback: A Rose By Any Other Name… | Mouse Potato Designs

Leave a Reply

