There’s a Blond, a Brunette and a Red Head (Part 1)

I’ve got some sentiment freebies at the end of this tutorial.

Lately, we’ve been getting a lot of form submissions off of http://www.copicmarkerscrapbooking.com asking for advice about coloring hair. So, I’ve decided to do a tutorial series on hair. First, I’m going to cover color selection. Since blond seems to be the shade that most people have trouble with, I’m starting there.

I figured it seemed appropriate to ask the girl with the most famous hair ever for help. Meet Rapunzel. She’s got A LOT of gorgeous blond hair. She’s also extremely popular in my house hold of female toddlers at the moment. So let’s explore ways to color Rapunzel, the good, the bad and the ugly.

Let’s start with ugly.
Here’s Rapunzel’s hair…. and it’s not blond, it’s YELLOW! Copic Markers Y11, Y15, Y17 and Y19 to be exact. That is one of the common mistakes people make when coloring blond hair. Unless a friend of yours got a bad dye job, there are very few people in real life walking around with yellow hair. Blond is much calmer than that. If you’re coloring Manga, or something you want to appear extremely cartoonish, yellow is ok. That yellow hair was so distracting I didn’t want to finish the picture.

Next…
Here’s Rapunzel again, looking a little better. Her hair is still in the yellow family, Copic Markers Y23, Y26, Y28 and E 41. As far as yellows go, this family of Copics isn’t very vibrant. I think it’s ideal for coloring cartoon blond hair, but it still isn’t true to life.

So let’s get this girl looking GOOD!


Here she is, with realistic blond hair. Most blond hair is just a very light shade of brown. In the case of Copic Markers, I used E40, E41, E42, E50. I’ll cover adding the highlights in another post. I actually used photos of my blond children to come up with this color blend. I would encourage you to play with the lighter earth tones to come up with a blend that suits your personal style.

I’ll be back in a few days with brunettes…. until then, if you want to give Rapunzel a crack, here she is. Click on her to make her bigger, then save her.



As promised, here are the sentiment freebies, they’re two versions of one of the best lines from Tangled.


About gallifreycraftingcompany

I love and train flying monkeys, color with copics, scrapbook what I color, read like a fiend and enjoy every minute of it. I'm a New Yorker that sought better weather, and I enjoy crafting outside by my pool and walking the beach.
This entry was posted in Copic Markers, Digital Stamps, Freebie, tutorial. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to There’s a Blond, a Brunette and a Red Head (Part 1)

  1. MsJoyceG says:

    Yikes …. I love … can hardly wait for the others. TFS

  2. Dave says:

    Thanks for the lesson on coloring “Blond Hair”. This was very helpful, and will make me be more observant of details. Great lesson.

  3. Barbara says:

    Thank you so much for the tutorial. I am getting better with my coloring but not there yet. Please keep up the tutorials.. Thanks

  4. Charmaine says:

    Thanks Colleen. I always have a hard time getting the right combination of Copics to color hair. If you could, can you add coloring black hair as well as the others?

    Thanks again.

  5. Teresa says:

    Thank you!

  6. Toni says:

    Thanks for the hair coloring lesson. Blending the colors and making it look right is sometimes hard to get. Keep up the good lessonsl.

  7. Aileen says:

    I only have Ciao’s – could you pls give me the blonde, red, brown colours using Chaio’s please. Thanks for your help. Hair and skin are very difficult. Aileen

    • Colleen says:

      Hi Aileen, Ciaos have the exact same colors and numbers as all the other makes of Copic Markers. The numbers I’ve listed in the above pictures would be the same for you. However, there are less Ciao colors available than Sketch, so if you were interested in purchasing them, you might have to buy some colors in Sketch.

  8. Susan E Zimmerman says:

    Thank you for sharing. My grand daughter will love these.

  9. Thank you for the ideas on blond. I am trying to do a little boy digi to resemble my son who is a tow head blond. 🙂 Very difficult. And as I am a redhead, I look forward to that tutorial. So far, my red heads come out auburn. ??? hehe

  10. Donna says:

    Wow. Thanks so much for a lesson in Copics. I’m truly a beginner and wanting to learn so much. I find your tutorials so helpful. Thank you!

  11. Sinihilkka says:

    Thank you for a great tutorial, I can’t wait for more! Freebies are fabulous too.

  12. snehal says:

    great tutorial…tips and fab images thanks

  13. Mary Christianson says:

    Thanks… I took my granddaughters to this movie… they will love them!

  14. Guy says:

    Great tutorial! The yellow blondes have always bugged me. And I don’t like when people color them yellow either 😀

    • Colleen says:

      Hmmm… might my dislike of yellow hair have come from you, Obi-Wan? Thanks for stopping by, I always feel super when you like something I’ve done!

  15. Kelley says:

    Thank you for the tutorial! I need the lesson/practice as I have a blond granddaughter.

  16. Pingback: There’s a Blond, A Brunette and a Red Head Part 3 | Making Our Mark

Leave a Reply

