There’s a Blond, A Brunette and a Red Head (Part 2)

Hey everyone! I’m glad you enjoyed part one about coloring blond hair. I’ve replaced one of the pictures of Rapunzel with a better scan of the image, if you want to take a peek she’s there.

Sooo… now we’re on to Brunettes. Brunettes are much easier to color than blonds, because it’s harder to make brown hair look cartoonish. Brown is dark, so it’s also a little easier to cover any mistakes you might make.

Since Copic has so many wonderful earth tones available, it can be a little confusing as to which shade to use. Here’s a few different examples, they’re not gospel, just guidelines.


This pretty senorita had her hair colored with Copics E33, E35, E37 and E29. These are some of the warmer earth tones. I chose that blend because I wanted to color her outfit a fiery red, and add warm oranges and yellows.

Our ballerina has on an ice blue tutu, so I chose a cooler set of earth tones for her hair. I used Copic Markers E74, E77, E79. Since their saturation number is higher, they have less pure brown in them, which produces the cooler pigment. Also, it’s worth noting that the darker your shade number, the cooler your color will tend to be.

So what do you do if your image has a mixture of warm and cool colors?

For our last princess, I used Copic Markers E99, E,17, E25, E29 to create this auburn shade.  I wish I could tell you that I followed some rules, but I didn’t. I just consulted my Copic Color Sheet and began to blend colors that I thought would look nice. If you lined up 5 brunettes, even though their hair tones would be similar, no two would be the same. So, experiment with your earth tones, and come up with blends you like.

Using an extremely dark marker (something that ends in “9”) will give you some really great depth in your shadowed areas. Go EASY with it though, because you want it as an accent, you don’t want it blending into your over hair shade.

If you want to give these ladies a try, here are two of them, the third I don’t have on this computer (oops!):

For a blank Copic Color Chart (free) and information on Copic saturation and shade levels, visit this page at Copic Marker Scrapbooking.

Of course, I couldn’t let you leave before I gave you some more freebies! Enjoy the sentiments. I left the last one unembellished so you could use it with many different images.

About gallifreycraftingcompany

I love and train flying monkeys, color with copics, scrapbook what I color, read like a fiend and enjoy every minute of it. I'm a New Yorker that sought better weather, and I enjoy crafting outside by my pool and walking the beach.
This entry was posted in Copic Markers, Digital Stamps, Freebie, tutorial. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to There’s a Blond, A Brunette and a Red Head (Part 2)

  1. Dorothy says:

    Thank You very much for these tutorials! Also the lovely images to color!

  2. Beautiful images and love the sentiments! Thank you!

  3. Cass says:

    Thanks for sharing, can’t wait to print and start colouring

  4. Susan E Zimmerman says:

    Thank you so much for sharing. I use colored pencils to color my images and these look great for loosing myself for away coloring LOL

  5. Silverbutterfly says:

    Great ladies and sentiments, thanks a lot….

  6. Kelley says:

    Thank you for the images and sentiments. Granddaughter #2 is brunette! No more grandchildren, but I can’t wait for the additional lessons!

  7. Margrit says:

    Thank you so much.

    Margrit

  8. Barbara says:

    Thank you so much for the coloring tutorials. I love to use the images and copy the shading you use. Hopefully I will keep improving.

  9. Looby says:

    Thank you so much.

  10. Melissa Smith says:

    Thanks for the lessons. I have 10 grandkids and run the gauntlet of hair colors.The hardest is the one with black(Japanese G-Gma) and the skin tone. Any help as “black” doesn’t work very well as it covers all lines. All 6 girls will love the princess’s.

  11. Elayne says:

    These girls are beautiful, thanks so much. I can’t wait to make a card for one of my princesses.

  12. TXGrandma says:

    Great tutorial, thanks! The images are also very nice.

  13. Clairebears says:

    I love your images and words :0)
    Thank you for sharing.

  14. Jayne says:

    Really interesting tutorials and great sentiments…..thank you!

  15. Danielle says:

    Thanks for sharing your tutorial!

  16. georgia says:

    thank you for the tutorial on coloring the different shades of brunettes! I need to practice for sure! haha! thank you also for the princesses and sentiments!

  17. RoseMarie says:

    Great tutorial! 🙂 I love coloring brunettes but I realize I need som more earthy colors.

  18. Lynne says:

    Colleen- what an amazing tutorial! I can’t wait to get home and start coloring my princesess (and my prince) :o)

  19. Sinihilkka says:

    Thank you for a great tutorial and cute freebies!

Leave a Reply

