There’s a Blond, A Brunette and a Red Head Part 3

Before I get into this tutorial on coloring red heads, I just wanted to remind everyone we have a Design Team Call going on! Check it out here.

This is part three of the series on hair color selection that we’ve been working on. We’ve also colored blondes and brunettes. By popular demand, I’ll be concluding the series with a post about coloring black hair. However, that didn’t fit in with my joke in the title bar.

So, let’s get started. Red hair is beautiful. My family is Scot-Irish, so I’ve had some great family photos to use as reference (My particular immediate branch of the family missed out on the red hair though). However, red hair tends to be interesting to try and color, especially if you’re trying to get it true to life. Too vibrant a red makes your coloring cartoony, too dark of a red makes it look too brown. I’ve come up with three color blends to act as guidelines.

First, here’s a cute little girl having a zen moment. I like her because well… it’s been several months since I’ve had anything close to resembling a zen moment myself. LOL
I have to be honest, I don’t know where this digi came from. I just ran a google search for girl hair digital stamps and there she was. Her hair is colored with Copic Markers R24, R27, R29, R59. Given that I used low saturation numbers, her red is pretty vibrant. I like this effect a lot as it gives her a cute, cartoony look. I haven’t actually seen anyone walking around with hair like this though… well… not since my sister’s first semester of beauty school.

Next up is a pretty flower girl, from the same Google search, not an original CMS image. I was extremely pleased with how her hair came out, as the shade exactly matches about 90% of my red headed family.  Most red hair is actually orange-ish.
She was colored using Copic Markers YR14, YR 18, R24, R27. I set the orange tones down first and then blended the red in. I also found it helpful to “flick” the red into the orange for an easier blend.

Last up is the other 10% of my family (my cousins Debbie and Brianna of whose hair the rest of us are totally jealous of.) This is a CMS original stamp, it’s actually a sneak preview of our next digi set.
I like the over all shade of her hair in this image, Copic Markers E07, E09, R46, R89. It gives it a deep red color without having it look too brown. Confession, I was in a time crunch when I colored her, and I did not take the time to highlight her hair properly. Almost a sin, considering this is a tutorial on hair, right?  I’m going to hopefully take another crack at her tomorrow and get her highlighted and gorgeous-fied.

I hope I’ve given you some good ideas for coloring red hair. Don’t be afraid to experiment with blends!

Here are the images I found on Google if you want a crack at them, except for the mermaid, which you’ll be able to grab when we release the next set. Free sentiment digis below.

<Edit: I apologize, the “Zen Girl” is actually named Ella, and did not come from a free tutorial as I had originally thought. If you like Ella, and would like to color her, please purchase her directly here: She is property of AI Factory, and I apologize to them for distributing their image without their permission. http://www.aivault.com/store/catalog/9744.html>
And here are some sentiments from our soon to be released set.

About gallifreycraftingcompany

I love and train flying monkeys, color with copics, scrapbook what I color, read like a fiend and enjoy every minute of it. I'm a New Yorker that sought better weather, and I enjoy crafting outside by my pool and walking the beach.
This entry was posted in Copic Markers, Digital Stamps, Freebie, Paper Crafting, Stamping, tutorial. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to There’s a Blond, A Brunette and a Red Head Part 3

  1. Guess says:

    Thanks for the tutorial. You make it so much fun!

  2. Ewa Nilsson says:

    Thank you!!

  3. Lynne Mizera says:

    dear Colleen, Loved the lesson, and now I will HAVE to do one of the princesses! I know exactly where you are in your life right now, but don’t worry…. Sleep is overrated and you get to catch up in your forties! LOL

  4. Dorothy says:

    Thank You so much!!!!

  5. Teresa says:

    Thank you!

  6. St says:

    So cute! Thank you!

  7. Barbara says:

    Thanks for the tutorial and the digis

  8. Lee Tucker says:

    Thanks…they’re wonderful!

  9. Kelley says:

    Thank you for the lessons. And I laughed at the dragon sentiment! Thank you for sharing.

  10. snehal says:

    Thank you for the tutorial and the images and the sentiment on dragon was outrageously funny….It made me laugh

  11. Kathie says:

    Great tut Colleen. The little zen girl image so cute. Thanks

  12. MsJoyceG says:

    Thanks a ton .. really like your STUFF.

  13. Elayne says:

    Thanks, I especially like the ‘zen’ girl. something new and different.

  14. mercieschild says:

    Wow, these are so adorable, I just love them, thank you bunches and bunches Hugs Cathy K

  15. April S. says:

    Thanks for the lesson! I can’t wait to see your new releases – the sentiments are wonderful!

  16. Vickie says:

    I love the meditating little girl! Thank you!

  17. Jayne says:

    Cool images, thank you.

  18. Asmaa says:

    Hi there ,
    Thank you for liking my image of the peace girl , kindly note that you can not just google images and use them for distribution to rest of the world
    this image is copy righted to http://aifactory.aivault.com/ i request you to remove the distribution and it will be nice to place a proper credit back to the designer store where this is for sale
    http://www.aivault.com/store/index.php
    i will be looking forward to your respond to this action , kind regards
    have a nice day
    regards
    Mia’
    owner Aifactory.aivault.com

  19. Charlene says:

    Thanks so much for the tutorial and the wonderful images and sentiments!

  20. Peeg says:

    Very nice! I love the way you colored the mermaid!

  21. Wow, these are wonderful thank you!

  22. sandy says:

    ooo thank you so much for your ballerina stamp … I have just uploaded a card using the little girlie … hope you like it happy crafting Sandy xx

  23. Terry says:

    Colleen ~ I have just found you!!!
    And, by ‘gar’ I’m gonna keep ya.
    You are so very talented.
    Thank you.

Leave a Reply

