Remember Shrinky Dinks? They Make GREAT Paper Crafting Embellishments!

If you’re a child of the 80’s like me, you definitely played with Shrinky Dinks. My favorite were the Cabbage Patch Kids, I used to loooovvvveee to watch them curl and shrink up in the oven. Imagine my glee when I saw them in the store. I immediately bought them and took them home, and passed that joy onto my 3 year old.

Then, I thought about how cool it would be to create a custom, 3D embellishment with them. Lo and behold, someone else must have made that same assumption, because there was shrink plastic at the craft store! So… follow along and see how I turned a digital stamp into a 3D embellishments.

I started with 2 digi stamps (Dustin Pike), no need to waste card stock as you’re not coloring on the paper and a sheet of shrink plastic:

Next, I traced the digital stamps on the sheet of shrink plastic. Be careful not to smudge the ink with your hand! After the images were traced, I flipped the plastic over and sanded the back with a file. I did this so my marker would stick to the plastic better.


Next, I colored the stamps. Make sure you color on the back, where you’ve sanded. If you color on the front, you’ll mess up the lines of the image. Bright, vivid colors work best. If your color is too light it won’t show up on the plastic. For the bird I used B04, B06. For the bear, E37, E39.

Next, cut out around the images. Be careful not to smudge the ink. Cover a cookie sheet with some tin foil. Bake them at 300 degrees. You’ll see them curl up like crazy! When they flatten all the way out, they’re done. They’ll be so much smaller than when you started!

After they’re finished cooling, you can use them to create a scrapbook layout, a greeting card, or anything else you can think of! I used the bear to create a greeting card, the humming bird was stolen by the same three year old that I introduced the awesomeness of shrinky dinks to.  I adhered the bear to the card with Xpress It tape… that stuff holds anything!

I can’t give away the bear or the hummingbird as they’re not mine, but I’ve still got some freebies for you!

About gallifreycraftingcompany

I love and train flying monkeys, color with copics, scrapbook what I color, read like a fiend and enjoy every minute of it. I'm a New Yorker that sought better weather, and I enjoy crafting outside by my pool and walking the beach.
This entry was posted in Copic Markers, Digital Stamps, Freebie, Stamping, tutorial. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Remember Shrinky Dinks? They Make GREAT Paper Crafting Embellishments!

  1. carla says:

    Love it!!!

  2. MsJoyceG says:

    I believe you can print on the shrinky plastic .. being careful to use the “rough” side and not smudge taking it out of the printer. I’ve cut some of Tim Holtz dies with the plastic and adhered the parts together .. fun. Thanks for reminding me of a good good embelishment at my finger tips.

  3. Kelly Holt says:

    Gosh, I used to love Shrinky Dinks — and my kids have only seen them one time — I actually have some sheets in my craft stash — what a GREAT idea:)

  4. I remember doing some of the shrinky dinks with my kids and I have seen them in videos as of late with making our cards. These sentiments are great! Thank you!!!

  5. Super cute, that bear is adorable! Great way to use shrinky dink… may have to get mine out to play!

  6. rosie says:

    I don’t remember seeing Shrinky dinks in the shops here in the U.K. but i once bought a box from a jumble sale and my grandaughter loved doing them,i still have the pencils and a bit of the plastic, also the instruction book and pictures to trace!take care.rosie.x

  7. Chi says:

    Thank you!!!

  8. mercieschild says:

    This is a great digi as usual. 🙂 Thank you bunches and bunches …. and like you I used shrinky dink and made key chains, bracelets and oh yes, charms for my ice tea stirrers LOL . That was the craze and it was fun. Maybe that craze is coming around again 🙂
    thank you again
    hugs Cathy K

  9. Silverbutterfly says:

    I’m glad you brought shrinky dinks, I have some of the sheets left over from another day…..will have to get them out and use them on my cards and scrapbooking pages, thanks for reminding me. Thanks for your sentiments, always appreciate them.

  10. SHARON says:

    I just love your creative touch with this digi. I look forward to seeing what you will show us next. =) Your sentiments are wonderful. Thank you so much!
    Sharon
    sharring1477@msn.com

  11. Cindy says:

    TY for the freebie!

  12. Charlene says:

    Thank you so much for the wonderful sentiments.

  13. Michelle B. says:

    I loved shrinky dinks … now the search begins – great idea! Thanks for the freebies!

  14. Kym Weber says:

    Beautiful sentiments! Thank you so much!

  15. Thank you so much for the freebie. with hugs Shirleyxxxxx

  16. Marilou says:

    Thank you!! Great sentiment!!

  17. April S. says:

    Thank you!!

  18. Kelley says:

    Thank you. Now I need to find the shrink plastic! 😀

  19. TXGrandma says:

    Love shrinky dinks! If you do print on them, a printer that feeds from the back works best. Thanks for the ideas!

  20. cindy groh says:

    Thank you so much for your generous sentiments. I really appreciate freebies like these. So again thank you for enriching my life with fun new sentiments to add to my cards. Peace.

  21. Ewa Nilsson says:

    Thank you!!!

  22. Love, love the sentiments. TYSVM!

Leave a Reply

