A Tale of Two Frogs

One of the great things about creating with Copic Markers is that you can really create something unique and special that stands out from other types of greeting cards. One of the best ways to make your image stand out is the add detail to it.

I’ve been dying to play with the new Copic Colors since they came in. I had a birthday card to make, so it was a great excuse! I chose two frog images, the first is Dustin Pike, the second is Guy Gondron for CMS (doesn’t Peeg sound like a posh fashion designer when I say it that way? )

I chose to color the Dustin Pike frog simply. I used just regular blending techniques  to give it a little pop. The frog is YG61, YG63, YR30, Y32. The frame is E23, E25 and the flowers are BG53, V20, V25 and RV55.

The picture came out a little dark, but he’s cute, right?

Next, I used all of the same colors for the CMS frog, (the lily pad is G82, G85, G40). What I really did differently was to pay attention to the details.

Picture was dark again, sorry about that. I feather blended the yellow of his belly in with his green. I added brown shading to his lips and his knees. I added brown speckles, and used opaque white to highlight  certain areas. All in all, the details make for a more pleasing image.

Which one ultimately made the birthday card?

This birthday card is for my co worker Harold, and I didn’t want to have “kiss me” on the front!! So, simple frog it was.

Here’s a totally unrelated digi stamp freebie, enjoy!

About gallifreycraftingcompany

I love and train flying monkeys, color with copics, scrapbook what I color, read like a fiend and enjoy every minute of it. I'm a New Yorker that sought better weather, and I enjoy crafting outside by my pool and walking the beach.
This entry was posted in Copic Markers, Digital Stamps. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to A Tale of Two Frogs

  1. Charlene says:

    Wow…this ain’t no children’s dragon lol. He looks ready to battle any knight that makes the mistake of bothering him. Thanks so much for sharing him…he’s fantastic!!!

  2. Charlene says:

    lol…love your little story about your frogs! Don’t blame you for not wanting to put a “kiss me” one on a coworkers birthday card. Cute card you made and I’m sure that your co worker loved it.

  3. Your card is so cute and this dragon is smokin’! LOL Thank you!

  4. snehal says:

    Cute card and thanks for the digi it is pretty unusual.Hope your coworker likes the card

  5. I LOVE dragons, this one is fabulous, thank you so much for sharing him.

  6. Cindy says:

    Ooooo TY for the dragon – he looks tuckered! C U T E ! ! ! ! !

  7. kimberly says:

    Thank you…i just love dragons…

  8. Danielle says:

    Love your detailed frog as well as the dragon image — good looking dragons are soooo difficult to find!

  9. mercieschild says:

    Your cards are awesome and I love that frog and the dragon is great for my grandsons. Thank you so very much hugs Cathy

  10. SHARON says:

    Very very intricate design! This is a scary one and I really like it. Thanks for doing something outside the box and making it very cool.
    Sharon

  11. Ardilla says:

    Your two frogs are great, really cute and well coloured.
    Thanks for the freebie!

  12. Ewa Nilsson says:

    Thank you!!!

  13. Cass says:

    Thanks I love dragons and this one is wonderful

  14. Karen says:

    Thanks for the lovely dragon, one of my faves to make into charity cards. Love the frogs too, amazing. TFS.

  15. Thank you so much for the freebie. with hugs Shirleyxx

  16. Lisa says:

    As you know being a crafter yourself, we all spend a lot of money on this craft so getting a freebie every once in awhile is a treat …
    thank you for the cute dragon
    Keep up the fabulous work
    I wish you many more creative years
    snowbird1@freenet.de
    hope you have a marvelous Day

  17. PepPop says:

    Thank you for such an amazing dragon – his expression is priceless. Jaqui x

  18. Melissa Smith says:

    I didn’t believe that when I came to this site-Here were frogs and a lady named Colleen. My youngest girl is named Colleen and she collects frogs. I agree that details make things pop. Love your info on coloring hair. Thanks for the dragon

  19. Karen H. says:

    Thanks for the awesome dragon. I love dragons. I like to think all dragons are kind… but yet not. Like the dragons on the inheritance series.

  20. Loraine L says:

    Hi, thank you for the time you have spent designing this dragon with attitude & thanks for sharing him with us
    LL

  21. Joy H. says:

    Thank you for the dragon, he’s wonderful.

Leave a Reply

