The Pack Survives (Freebie too!)

Thank you all so much for the amazing generosity you’ve shown to our Guy Gondron. Our last fundraiser raised close to $900 towards Guy’s medical and living expenses. For those of you new to this blog, Guy is one of our digital stamp designers. He was recently diagnosed with throat cancer, and this past week underwent surgery.  I haven’t been able to speak with him due to the fact that he’s in AZ and we’re here in FL, and he’s been in ICU recovery, but I have received updates from his daughter and his friend. Today they removed the initial trach tube and he is able to speak a little bit!

I first became friends with Guy because we are geeks. We like geeky books and say geeky things.  One of the quotes I have been reminding him of is from Game of Thrones (yup same books that have been made into an HBO series).  Ned tells his daughter that “The lone wolf dies, but the pack survives”. We’re Guy’s pack.

We were kicking around some ideas for a new fundraiser when in stepped the ever amazing, generous and wonderful Kathie Zaban of Beary Wishes and CMS. Kathie not only stepped in and generously offered to create images so our DT can continue, she also masterminded this amazing fundraiser for Guy. She drew the images, rounded up the sponsors and organized the prizes.  Kathie, you are amazing and we are so grateful from the bottom of our hearts.

So without further ado, here are the details of the fundraiser. The last set of stamps that Guy was able to draw for Copic Marker Scrapbooking was a set of fairy tale characters. Kathie has added to that with her own special Jack and the Beanstalk set.
If you donate $5 to this fundraiser for Guy, you will receive this digital stamp set as a token of our thanks. Check out some of the great things our DT did with these stamps (a full posting of the projects that the DT created with these stamps will follow separately):

Jack and the Beanstalk by Peggy

Believe in Magic by Lynne

Do you remember the title of this blog? The PACK survives! We at CMS have been so touched by the generosity and kindness and support that the “Papercrafting Pack” has shown to Guy. So many of our fellow retailers  have generously donated prizes to our cause. If you donate to Guy’s cause by purchasing Jack and the Beanstalk, you not only receive the above stamps, your name will be put into a raffle to win one of the following prizes: (Winner will be selected Monday, May 23rd, 2011). 

Grand Prize, courtesy of Copic Marker Scrapbooking and Beary Wishes (Approx $115)
CMS
– 12 Ciao Marker
– 25 sheets Xpress It
– 2 Penny Black rubber stamps
Bearywishes
– Spellbinder Fanciful Holiday
– Cuttlebug Embossing Folder – Floral Fantasy
– Bouquet Birgritta Swiss Pixies rubber stamp

First Prize courtesy of Lindy’s Stamp Gang and Designed to Delight:
– Starburst Stains set
– Glitz Spritz set
– Powder set
– “Dancing Mice” digal stamp set
Second Prize courtesy of One Crazy Stamper and Really Reasonable Ribbon (approx $49 value):
One Crazy Stamper – Rubber stamps by “Your Next Stamp”
– Tea Time Fhiona
– So Happy for You
– Wishing You Wonderful
– Chocoholic
– $10 Gift Certificate
Third Prize courtesy of Beary Wishes (approximately $45 value):
– Fancy Pants – Beach Babe 6 x 6 Pad
– Just Rite – Oval Wood Stamp with 15pt Font and flower image
– Tim Holtz – Pattern & Stiches Set
– Popcorn the Bear Xmas – Magical Christmas rubber stamp
– Ranger Ink Blending Tool Handle
– Ranger Ink Blending Foam Refills
Fourth Prize courtesy of Designed to Delight and Really Reasonable Ribbon ($35 value):
– $25 Gift Certificate
– $10 Gift Certificate
Fifth Prize courtesy of Designed2Delight ($25 value):
Special thanks to Kathie Zaban, for going above and beyond the call of duty and giving selflessly of her time and resources. We are so grateful to everyone who volunteered to participate in this fundraiser, our special thanks to: Faith of Designed2Delight, Tracey of Lindy’s Stamp Gang, Bonnie of Really Reasonable Ribbon, and Lora of One Crazy Stamper. You ladies are so awesome in your generosity! Special thanks to our Design Team, for their special efforts with this stamp collection!
…and because it’s us, we can’t let you leave without a freebie or two…

By the Amazing Kathie Zaban

I’m certain Guy would want you to have something from him as well, here’s one of my favorites that he’s drawn:

Toto, by Guy Gondron

About gallifreycraftingcompany

I love and train flying monkeys, color with copics, scrapbook what I color, read like a fiend and enjoy every minute of it. I'm a New Yorker that sought better weather, and I enjoy crafting outside by my pool and walking the beach.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to The Pack Survives (Freebie too!)

  1. I wish I had the available funds to donate, but it’s a week and half b/4 my ‘payday’. I do appreciate the freebies, especially the one with Toto and the witches hat and broom…which I am going to use with my granddaughter’s scrapbook…we went to the Oz Museum in Wamego, Kansas last summer. Thank you.

  2. Cathy says:

    I am glad that Guy’s surgery went well. We are all sending wonderful thoughts and prayers his way.

    Cathy

  3. Ninon says:

    Where oh where can I donate?
    I sent a card to Guy, but don’t remember seeing a fundraiser link… I want to participate!

  4. jenn zeeb says:

    I am so glad to here Guy is doing well. He has been in my thoughts these last few days & I have been meaning to email you to see if you had an update. I met (blog friends) Guy through you and your first fundraiser and my heart goes out to him and his family. Please pass on my good wishes and if possible I would love to have a way to send him a card or cards if possible. I teach a card class at an elementary school and I think it would be fun to send him some of our cards. God Bless and thanks for making this possible. Guy is BLESSED to be able to call you his friend!!

  5. TR says:

    He is so lucky to have such a loyal, generous pack. Thanks for sharing another way to help as well as for the freebies.

  6. Sarah Warren says:

    very cute, thank you

  7. St says:

    I am glad that Guy’s surgery went well. Thanks for all you are doing for him.

  8. Chi says:

    Thank you!

  9. Thank you for the freebies, just purchased the “Jack in the Beanstalk”. So glad he is doing well!

  10. Karrie says:

    So good to hear he is doing well! He is so lucky to have a great friend like you! I’m sure all your support gives him hope! Praying he has a quick and smooth recovery from surgery! Thank you!

  11. Esther says:

    Thank you very much for the cute bears!

  12. Sue says:

    Thank you very much for the update on Guy’s progress, he has been in my thoughts over the last few days

  13. Marilou says:

    Thank you!

  14. Ewa Nilsson says:

    Thank you!!

  15. Jane says:

    Love that little Toto! Thanks for sharing. jane

  16. Cindy says:

    TY for the Thank You Bears! 🙂

  17. Pingback: The Pack Survives (Freebie too!) | Making Our Mark :: FreakyGeeky.com

  18. Thanks for the fabulous freebie. with hugs Shirleyxxx

  19. Thanks! Great projects! Thinking of Guy!

  20. Theresa says:

    my heart goes out to Guy. our friend is dealing with brain cancer and it takes such a toll on everyone. Sending love and good wishes.

  21. Helen Dooley says:

    Thanks for the really cute images. I thought I might use the melted witch as a card to my friend. :they said you went on a vacation” lol too funny. Thanks a bunch.

  22. Adorable images. Happy to hear Guy made it through the surgery. He and his family remain in my prayers. Thank you for the freebies.

  23. Corina says:

    Thanks for sharing these two cute stamps.

  24. Joy H. says:

    Great images, thanks.

  25. SHARON says:

    Thanks so much for the wonderful freebies! I love your designs. Your talent is obvious and I look forward to seeing your new creations in the future.
    =) Sharon

  26. Kelley says:

    I’m glad Guy was able to have the trach tube removed and has the ability to speak some. ICU is not a fun place to hang out.

    Thank you for the imaes.

  27. Guy says:

    I wish I had the energy to thank each of you personally but I wanted to at least acknowledge how amazing you all are. Even my hillbilly roommate, Kevin, had to admit that all you nerdy little scrapbookers are more amazing than he could have imagined. I have to say that I am extremely touched as well. No, that’s too weak. Moved to tears is more like it. Thank you all so much.

    I’m home now but still in a bit of pain and very tired. Talking is a chore and sleeping is difficult, but I’m home and it should get better every day from here on. I hope to be drawing little nerdy pictures for you guys for a long time from here on.

    At this point I would say that the biggest thing you can do to make me smile right now is spread the word of how amazing Colleen and Christian are and help CMS grow their business. The world needs more people like them in it.

Leave a Reply

