The Fanciest Room

A few months ago our family moved to a new home. My oldest daughter was a little upset by this, as it meant she’d be leaving her room (which I swear that child never spent a full night in). In our old house, I had painted a forest scene in her room, a nice big tree, some owls, a lady bug, birds, etc. etc.  I told her one of the exciting things about moving new places is deciding how to decorate.

Little did I know, I’d created a monster… since her little sister is really too young to participate in the design process, Shiloh took over all by herself. Thus, the “Fancy Nancy” room was born.  Shi picked out the paint color. She picked out every…. single…. wall decal.

I had taken these pictures before Dad passed away, so you can imagine all of the new things Shi’s added, such as a new nightlight, and some unicorns, but here’s a tour of the room she and I created together.

The Fancy Nancy Room

I made the  mistake of taking the girls to Joanne’s with me one day, they had their “No Sew” blankets on sale. Shiloh and Halle each got one, and they had TONS of fun “making” their own blankets. Shi, who never misses anything, also spied some Fancy Nancy pillow. When I pointed out that they were only patterns, they weren’t sewn she said “No problem Mom, I know you can do it!”  Oy!

The Fancy Bed. Yup, I got suckered into sewing those pillows.

After we applied each set of decals, each string of flowers, Shiloh would tell me “Thanks Mom… I still think we can make it fancier”.

I was pleased with the end result, and I had even more fun working on “Our Project” with Shiloh. We did briefly go through a phase where Halle had some nightmares about giant butterflies, but I think all in all it worked out great.

Princess Shiloh in the kingdom she created!

If you were a good sport and read this whole thing, here’s a fun freebie!

By Kathie Zaban

About gallifreycraftingcompany

I love and train flying monkeys, color with copics, scrapbook what I color, read like a fiend and enjoy every minute of it. I'm a New Yorker that sought better weather, and I enjoy crafting outside by my pool and walking the beach.
This entry was posted in Colleen's Rambles, Digital Stamps, Freebie. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to The Fanciest Room

  1. Dorothy E says:

    That room is just so adorable! I wish my grandaughter had a bigger room. It would be so much fun decorating it up like this! Sounds like you had lots of fun doing it together!

    Oh and thanks for the digi stamp. Very cute.

  2. Connie says:

    Those girls are so lucky to have their mom wrapped around their finger…lol
    Looks like you all did a nice job on the room. If only mine looked like that when I was younger.

  3. ColleenB. says:

    What a darling little girls room. Sounds like U both had great fun decorating. Great job.
    Love the butterflies. Just need now is a few hanging from the ceiling so they can flutter about :}
    Thank U 4 the cute freebie.

  4. cmsmith60 says:

    Beautiful room for a beautiful princess….you both done a great job.

  5. carla says:

    Very sweet, enjoy your little ones, they grow up too fast!!!

  6. Shiloh did an amazing job picking out the items for her and Halle’s room. The room is just as sweet as can be for two little princesses. The girls are just adorable.

    Thank you for lovely bear freebie!

  7. ColleenM says:

    What a fabulous room! Truly fit for a princess! These are the days to remember, it’s a beautiful thing to spend time with your little ones, sharing their wonder and creativity! Sometimes big blessings come in small moments!

  8. Lucy says:

    The room looks great pink is my grand daughter’s favorite color too. Thanks for the cute freebie.

  9. Debbie says:

    These are the memories you both will remember. Not what toys she had, but the time spent. Cherish it.

  10. Esther says:

    Thank you very much for sharing this lovely freebie!

  11. Cleah says:

    Lovely room and I love that fancy Nancy motif! No wonder she could have her way with you, she’s so cute! Thank you for the adorable bear!

  12. mercieschild says:

    What a precious room. It is adorable and what a cute bear, thank you so much for sharing that adorable room and the adorable bear. hugs Cathy

  13. Linda Imler says:

    Thanks Kathie,
    I appreciate the freebie! Shiloh’s room is soo very cute, he crafty talent is as good as her mom’s.

    Linda Imler

  14. Laurie says:

    Loved seeing princess in her creation–thanks for the darling bear too.

  15. Cindy says:

    Soooo cute and adorable … TY 🙂

  16. sj05jjk5 says:

    great room, thanks for the bear

  17. Tina says:

    Ein tolles Zimmer ist das. Ein richtiger Mädchentraum.
    Vielen Dank auch für das tolle freebie.
    Liebe Grüße
    Tina

  18. Ewa Nilssonw says:

    Thank you!!

  19. Sue says:

    The room is delightful and you sound to have had alot of fun creating it

  20. ShelliRoyer says:

    Enjoy these times with the girls. You will never forget them! The room is great, and very fancy I might add! Thanks for the digi!

  21. Cass says:

    A pretty room for all to enjow

  22. Thanks so much for the fabulous freebies. hugs Shirleyxxxxx

  23. Rene van Wyk says:

    What a delightful, fun & very girly room! Your princess Shiloh is adorable and I think she did a great job overseeing the decorating… lol
    Thanks for the cute freebie!

  24. Danielle says:

    Wow! That room is definitely fit for a princess!! I love it… and I know my nieces would adore having a room decked out like this one……. Thanks also for the free digi!

  25. TXGrandma says:

    My 8 year old granddaughter loves Fancy Nancy. I have a friend in her 80’s who’s name is Nancy (she really is fancy!) and she gave her two of the books. They are amoung her favorites!

    Thanks for the bear image. It’s adorable!

  26. Alyna says:

    awwww
    such a nice cute room. i am sure she loved it. its fun decorating :). And thank for the freeie

  27. Kathy says:

    I love the bedroom. So creative. Makes me wish for a grand-daughter. And, thank you for the freebie bear.

  28. What a gorgeous room, lucky girl! I wanted to show you a card I made with one of your sentiments.Thanks for looking. http://christi-hicks.blogspot.com/2011/06/pretty-little-asian-girl.html

  29. Kelley says:

    Moms always get suckered in to making things they hadn’t planned on! 🙂 But, the pleasure it gives our children makes it worth it.

    Thank you for the image.

Leave a Reply

