Working Backwards

I hope you had a nice holiday weekend! We’ve received a lot of questions on the Copic Marker Scrapbooking web submission form lately asking for help putting together Copic papercrafting projects.

Hopefully, this post will help trouble shoot some of that for you.

Here are a few of the most common problems:
– I can’t find paper/embellishments to match the image I’ve colored.
– My embellishments don’t fit and my card won’t come together right.
– The individual elements of my card just don’t jive together.

There is a simple solution to all three of these problems: Work backwards! Most Copic centered projects don’t jive well together because the crafter colors the image first, and then looks for supporting elements to match. By flipping it around, and matching your coloring to your embellishments, you stand a much greater chance of getting the results you want!

Here’s how it goes… the first step is to select the image you want to color. Then, select the card you intend to place it on, and the embellishments you would like to use with it.  Here are the embellishments I chose for my “Tiny Dancer” card.

Next, I pieced the embellishments together with my image to see if it all looked well together.

Next, I decided which  shade to color her tutu.  I picked the purple out of my background paper, and then tested several Copic shades to see what matched up. I used BV11, BV13, BV17 for her dress and shoes.

Next, I picked colors out of the flowers for the petticoat ruffles. I used YR02, YR04, Y21 and Y23.

From there I chose complimenting colors for the rest of the image. Her hair is E23, E25, E29. Why did I choose brown hair over blond? Because the twigs of my flowers are brown, as are the gem embellishments I had planned to use.

I colored her wings YR30 and YR31, to pick up the gold glitter on the flowers, and also because I chose to use a buttermilk atyou Spica pen to glitz her up afterwards.  Her skin is E00, E21 and shadowed with BV20.

Here’s the finished result:

You do not have to have an extraordinarily large collection of Copics to match your embellishments (but of course it always helps!). If you have basic colors, you can tone them down using light grays (C1, C3, W1, W3, N1, N3) to match your accents.

Once you have red, blue and yellow blends, you can pretty much match any shade you want. If you have a blue green background, and don’t have any BG copics, color the desired portion of your image blue. Then blend some green in. See where I’m going with that? Use the colorless blender pen to fade reds into pinks in areas. Copics are very versatile, your possibilities are endless! You can even color on or airbrush your embellishments with Copics to get the color you desire!

Here’s the tiny dancer fairy that Kathie drew! What creative color combo can you come up with for her?

For more information on Kathie, and more of her designs and freebies, visit her blog Beary Wishes.

 

About gallifreycraftingcompany

I love and train flying monkeys, color with copics, scrapbook what I color, read like a fiend and enjoy every minute of it. I'm a New Yorker that sought better weather, and I enjoy crafting outside by my pool and walking the beach.
This entry was posted in Copic Markers, Fairies, Freebie, Paper Crafting, Stamping, tutorial. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Working Backwards

  1. Cathy Hughes says:

    Another wonderful tutorial…thanks Colleen and, thanks for the freebie too!

  2. adele mcnulty says:

    lovely image thankyou

  3. Ardilla says:

    Thanks for the image!

  4. So sweet! Thank you!

  5. Christine says:

    Thanks a lot for sharing the color names for your darling fairy.

  6. Sue says:

    Thank you so much for the darling fairy. I love her.

  7. kellie says:

    love the fairy and what a great idea ‘working backwards’! thank you.

  8. Cindy Groh says:

    Thank you so much for the beautiful freebie.

  9. Tina says:

    Eine tolle Zeichnung. Vielen Dank .
    Liebe Grüße
    Tina

  10. Shelly Schmidt says:

    Wonderful- thank you!!!

  11. Sue says:

    What an enchanting fairy, I love the way you coloured her. I will have to be more organised and try your colour to match technique

  12. Terrie says:

    Love the fairy!
    Thank you so much for sharing her!

  13. Thank you so much for the fabulous freebie. hugs Shirleyxxx

  14. jackie says:

    mega cute thank you xx

  15. Cass says:

    thanks for the digi

  16. Helen Dooley says:

    Really a great card. I love the ballerina- THANKS!

  17. anne says:

    she’s lovely.. thanx..-anne-

  18. Barb S. says:

    Thank you for the image and the tutorial. Makes lots of sense. HUGS!

  19. Josephine Cox says:

    Love the dancing fairy and tutorial. Hugs.

  20. Kelley says:

    Thank you for the tutorial. I know I color with what I like and then try to put the card together. Not always the best. 🙂 It does, however, increase my paper choices as I go buy more!

  21. TR says:

    What a wonderful tutorial and a beautiful fairy. Thank you.

  22. Louise says:

    very cute. thanks.

  23. mamichelle says:

    Thanks for the adorable fairy!

  24. Rene van Wyk says:

    What a cute fairy! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

