Copics… But Not on Paper.

I tried to clean out my crafting storage space the other day… ok, go ahead and laugh, it’s funny! Pretty much the only thing I like about cleaning (I didn’t earn the nickname “Hurricane” by chance), is that I find stuff that I had forgotten about. My latest endeavor turned up a clear plastic mini-album from 7 Gypsies. When I bought it, I had no idea what to do with it, it just looked cool…

Flash forward two years and I was chock full of ideas. Here’s a simple, yet very fun tutorial!

What you need:
1 plastic mini album
Rubber stamps of your choice
Copic Markers of your choice
Uniball gold gel pen
Copic Various Ink, 4 colors of choice
Ribbon

I started by pulling out 6 pages of the album. I picked out the stamps that I wanted, and colored the stamp itself with my Copic markers. (Clean with blender solution or rubbing alcohol when done).
I stamped the six pages with the stamps and colors of my choice. It was so much fun to make each stamp a variety of colors! Note, you will only need to stamp one side of each page, as they are transparent and your stamps will show through to the other side.

After I stamped the six pages, I put them to the side. I pulled out the other two pages, my gold uniball and the Copic various ink.  I first saw this technique in the Copic handbook given out during certification class.
First, take your gold pen, and doodle on the plastic page. Smudge it up with your finger a little.

Next, drip two colors of Copic Various Ink onto your plastic sheet. WARNING: Make sure you put down plenty of scratch paper, because this can get messy!

Allow the ink to dry a bit, and then use a cotton ball soaked in blender solution to remove excess ink and give the page a more finished look.

After all of the ink has dried, put the album together with jump rings, and then embellish with ribbon. Here are a few photos of what my finished album looks like (sans photos, because it’s a gift for a friend):

Happy Crafting! Alsooooo…. here’s a freebie for you! It’s a nice little birdhouse I drew a while back!

About gallifreycraftingcompany

I love and train flying monkeys, color with copics, scrapbook what I color, read like a fiend and enjoy every minute of it. I'm a New Yorker that sought better weather, and I enjoy crafting outside by my pool and walking the beach.
This entry was posted in Copic Markers, Digital Stamps, Freebie, Mixed Media, Paper Crafting, Scrapbooking, Stamping, tutorial. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Copics… But Not on Paper.

  1. Linda Imler says:

    Great project idea!! Thanks for the freebie!!!

  2. Cathy says:

    Very pretty book….thanks for the birdhouse.
    Cathy

  3. Marjorie Brundage says:

    Like what you came up with on your project. Thanks so much for the freebie. I can see the birdhouse hanging from an invisible branch with a real branch holding a bird that I cut out with the Cricut.

  4. Hope you are enjoying your vacation!! Thank you for this birdhouse!

  5. Tina says:

    Vielen lieben Dank für die tolle Zeichnung.
    LG Tina

  6. Ewa Nilssonw says:

    Thank you!!

  7. Heather B says:

    Thank you very much 🙂

    Looks like a cool project 🙂

  8. Ceri says:

    Thank you I love this little bird house

  9. mercieschild says:

    I really like this a lot, thank you bunches hugs Cathy

  10. Terrie says:

    Thank you for the pretty birdhouse image.
    And your mini album is stunning! The recipient is sure to love it!

  11. Cool project, Colleen. The birdhouse is a one-of-a-kind and has a fantasy feel to it. Love it! Thanks bunches. Hugs, Teresa

  12. TXGrandma says:

    Great project and I love the image. Thanks so much!

  13. Kelley says:

    I don’t want to clean my space! I know I will find things that I have now purchased a duplicate! Thank you for the image.

  14. Thank you so much for sharing!

Leave a Reply

