One Little Word (Sentiment Freebie)

Confession: I am terrible at New Year’s Resolutions. I don’t make it past January 3rd.  In 2011, my resolution was to wear more lipstick at the office. I actually stuck to that one.

I was looking for something similar this year, something that wouldn’t crush my soul if I forgot about…. and then I saw some  buzz on facebook that all of my crafty friends were talking about their “word” for the year.

I checked it out, and knew this was something that I had to do for myself this year. If you need one little word, you can check out Ali Edward’s class.

2011 was a bummer for this family. We moved (which is always traumatic for me no matter how positive it is),  we lost my dad (worst thing in the world, always), my best friend was very sick and very far away, I lost a lot of my creativity for a while… I was determined this year was going to be better. Well, at least until December when the Mayan calendar makes the world end.

My word for this year is BREAKTHROUGH. There are so many different areas this applies to for me, I am excited to focus on it.

Here is my project for January (which I DID complete in January, I was just debating whether or not to blog about it.)

January "One Little Word" Project, View 1

View Two

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I have some sentiments here that I created that I thought might help those of you that have a word, or those of you that are just needing some inspirations for your crafting. Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

About gallifreycraftingcompany

I love and train flying monkeys, color with copics, scrapbook what I color, read like a fiend and enjoy every minute of it. I'm a New Yorker that sought better weather, and I enjoy crafting outside by my pool and walking the beach.
This entry was posted in Colleen's Rambles, Digital Stamps, Freebie. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to One Little Word (Sentiment Freebie)

  1. cmsmith60 says:

    Ok…I’m going to step out on this…do ur really believe the garbage about the ‘mayan indian calendar….if so please read somewhere in Matthew that ONLY GOD KNOWS WHEN THE END OF TIME AS WE KNOW IT IS GOING TO HAPPEN’ NO INDIANS, NO PREACHERS OUT IN CALIFORNIA FORECASTING THE RETURN OF CHRIST, NO ONE KNOWS BUT GOD. And yes this upsets me when people claim this false prophecy as real happening…remember Y2K and all the panic occurring than….everyone in a panic and nothing happen. So…please get real!

  2. cmsmith60 says:

    MORE…the calendar would repeat if they, the stupid indians decided to continue…it’s a loop…so once again…get real!!

    • Colleen says:

      I most assuredly do not believe in the Mayan calendar. I’m sorry you mistook my satire of it for seriousness.

      The exact passage that is “somewhere” in Matthew is 24:36. I know it by heart.

      If I, as a Christian, was disturbed by the attacking tone of your comment, imagine what someone who really did need to hear the truth might think… Might I suggest 1 Peter 3:15?

      • cmsmith60 says:

        why…does it say the same thing as Matthew 24:36 or…is it preaching about my so-called ‘attitude’. I personally get tired of all the hoopa-la re:the Mayan Indians, 2YK and other news media hype. I’m not reading some verse that will scare the wits out of me…like reading all that stuff about the false prophets, Mayan Indians and the preacher man in California who predicted, 2 x’s, the return of Christ and He did not return when he predicted. If preacher’s would preach Bible related messages and quit trying to figure out when Christ returns and help people instead of crying wolf, us people would not be scared out of wits.

        I apologize for the attacking tone…but be in my shoes when u hear and read all the hype that goes on from news media about the mayan calender…which is a bunch of rubbish. I have a friend out in New York, who I believe, believes in it. And what do u tell them… NOTHING…just like you. NOTHING…doesn’t work…but be on/in my shoes…my life as a child, in church, was being preach each Sunday about the end-of-the-world…scare tactics to make you ‘become’ a Christian, etc. And consequently, it scares the wits out of me NOW….

        Yes I believe the world will come to an end, but it’s at God’s decision, not some Mayan Indians who don’t even exist anymore…disappeared off the face of the earth. If they even existed at all!!

        Enough of my rant….

      • cmsmith60 says:

        1 Peter 3:15..???????????????????????????? what does this have to do with the Mayan Indian Calendar SCARE?????????????????????????????????????

      • Colleen says:

        1 Peter 3:15 is a reference to the appropriate way to convey your faith to people.

        If you do not care for what I write, or are only interested in trolling, kindly find another blog to visit.

  3. Dionne says:

    Och, just want to say sorry for the not nice post. I did get that you were joking:) I decided to start project lift this year and was inspired also by Ali Edwards. So far it’s going really well, even though this week I’m sick and don’t feel like doing much of anything. I do hope this year is better for you and my word for the is Contentment. To be thankful for all I have and take utter Joy in that.

  4. protoguy says:

    How dare you joke about Mayans! Don’t you know they loco? You don’t mess with South Central Yucatan yo.

    Hodor ❤

  5. txgrandma says:

    Wonderful sentiments! Thanks for sharing. My word for this year is diligence. I have so many things that I’ve put off for too long and it’s time to push through them. I have done well for the past few weeks and it feels good! Thanks for inspiration.

  6. Brooksie says:

    I loved your response to the angry poster. I get upset when our Brothers and Sisters attack those who don’t believe as we do, as if we are at war with them. Granted, we are at war, but not with humans. And I think a lot of Christians get that mixed up.
    God bless, and keep it “real”. *Anyone with Flying Monkeys in their post is either joking or loco…or both? mwahahahahaha*
    Oh, my word is “Motivate.”

    • Colleen says:

      I’m totally both, true story. We’re big Wizard of Oz fans in our family…. when my kids grew into toddlers, I often joke that they’re the flying monkeys and I’m the Scarecrow! Thanks for your nice comment, it made my day!

  7. mamichelle says:

    First off, your project is amazing!! Thanks so much for the sentiments and I’m sorry you got reamed out for joking. 😉

  8. April S. says:

    Love these!! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

