My Pint Sized Picassos.

You guys, how come none of you told me how awesome Pinterest is?!?!

It’s ok, I forgive you. You probably didn’t tell me because you knew I’d waste an absurd amount of time there. Which I now do, thank you very much. Buuuuuuttttt… in all of the time I spent surfing there, I found an AMAZING amount of crafts to do with kids. Which was a life saver, because it rained here all weekend and the kids were chewing on the craft room door like angry beavers.

Sooooo… we decided to create some wall art. We went to Joann’s and bought some canvases, enough crayons to embarrass an entire elementary school, and some glue. I own a blow dryer already.

We glued the crayons into shapes and patterns on our canvases. Each of the girls got to pick their own shape, and then practice Roy G. Biv while gluing. Then, when the glue had dried we took them out to the garage for a little melted wax fun!

Kittenfish... the straight line was her idea. Who knew my two year was so epic already?

She's so sweet... yes, I did write "Jesus" in there for her. I think it would have been cuter if she did it, but she didn't want to.

We got Dad to hang them on the wall for us, et viola! A fun afternoon that they'll remember forever!

Did I get any actual craft projects done for myself? Errrr….. does half done count? 😉

About gallifreycraftingcompany

I love and train flying monkeys, color with copics, scrapbook what I color, read like a fiend and enjoy every minute of it. I'm a New Yorker that sought better weather, and I enjoy crafting outside by my pool and walking the beach.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My Pint Sized Picassos.

  1. deejcarter2003 says:

    These are so cute, maybe my 13yr will do one for me. Do you just glue and melt? What’s the process?

    • Colleen says:

      We used canvas, and glued the crayons on with Elmer’s Craft glue, making sure to follow our color pattern and keep the labels out. Then we let the glue dry for a while. We took it to the garage and laid down some cardboard to catch the splatter, and then melted the crayons with a blow dryer. We rotated the canvas to make the wax go where we wanted. It dries almost immediately!

  2. ColleenB. says:

    Your girls R Adorable and what Fantastic artwork they have done. These wonderful art work pieces needs to have their name, age and year that they done it.
    ColleenB.

  3. Trisha says:

    Love these projects. Your girls are so sweet and amazing.

  4. Alice says:

    i’ve seen this idea on pinterest, but i really like that you included the ‘artist’ in each photo 🙂 they look really cool on their walls!

Leave a Reply

