A Coloring Tutorial by Guy Gondron (Free Line Art Included)

Quick note from Colleen: Guy created this as a coloring tutorial/exercise for our Design Team, but he was kind enough to offer to share it with ALL of our CMS friends as well. The following tutorial is all his words, his art work. Thanks Guy!! 

The basic summary I would give is – I use a lot of layers even if I don’t necessarily use a lot of colors. As always, try to keep in mind where the light is coming from. I wasn’t too scrupulous with that this time around. The light source is from above and should be mostly warm colors, as it’s coming from the hot sun, but it’s also coming through layers of water. Normally that would wash out every color and all you’d have is blue, but this is our fantasy world, so I only tinted everything blueish to get that cool feeling. By contrast, whereas the warm sun is the above light source, the reflected light from the ocean floor gives the underside of things a cooler tone. I should have emphasized this more, but as I was worried about the octopus popping out as much as possible, I left most of the blues out of the octopus.

Distance also increases the amount of blue in an object, so those closest to the viewer should be the brightest and most colorful. Another reason why I kept the blues out of my focal point. Distance dims. That’s why majestic mountains are purple. It’s a good thought to keep when trying to create some depth.

Here is the Venilia line art if you’d like to try it yourself:

 

About gallifreycraftingcompany

I love and train flying monkeys, color with copics, scrapbook what I color, read like a fiend and enjoy every minute of it. I'm a New Yorker that sought better weather, and I enjoy crafting outside by my pool and walking the beach.
This entry was posted in Copic Markers, Freebie, tutorial. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Coloring Tutorial by Guy Gondron (Free Line Art Included)

  1. Deonna B says:

    This is awesome! Thank you very much!

  2. deejcarter2003 says:

    I so wanted to play with this drawing, thanks so much for making it available. Your AWESOME!!! Guy

  3. Cathy Hughes says:

    This is so incredible…thanks for the chance to learn.

    Cathy

  4. Joynana says:

    Wonderful freebie, your coloring is amazing. I am almost afraid to try it. Yours is so good.

  5. Terrific tutorial, Guy. I love the layers of colour you used on the octopus and the watery look of the woman’s skin. Thanks so much for sharing your expertise!

  6. Sue says:

    Brilliant tutorial. I retire in 7 long weeks and this will be my first project, to try to learn how to get some depth to my colouring. Thank you very much Colleen and Guy

Leave a Reply

