The Hero of Canton, The Man They Call Jayne!

One of my new hobbies is knitting, crocheting or err… actually, just making knots in yarn. Disclaimer, I am NOT very good at this. Buuuttt…. this project took forever, and has a funny story, so I’m going to share.

One of my most favoritest fandoms is Firefly/Serenity. Peeg’s too. It’s provided me with endless amounts of giggles, fun quotes and occasionally tears. When Peeg was talking about wanting to dress up like one of the characters, Jayne (who is not a girl), he was talking about needing a hat like Jayne wore. I honestly can’t remember how it came about, but somehow I volunteered to make it. (He’s Peeg, I’d give him a kidney if he needed one) I had used a knifty knitter before for scarves, so how hard could it be?

Well, for starters, I don’t watch a heck of a lot of tv. I prefer to read at night. Reading and knitting? Apparently they can’t be done at the same time.

So, I pulled up Netflix and it suggested Doctor Who. Hmm… that’s the guy with the great hair that gets pinned on Pinterest all the time, right? So began my addiction. The hat? Well, first I started knitting it upside down. *Note to self, knifty knitter hats get knit from the bottom up, not the top down.* Next, I realized the loom I was using was too small. Unravel, do again. Finally, it got done… and all six seasons of Doctor Who had been watched. It was even mailed (I am HORRIBLE about going to the post office). Without further ado, here is Peeg in his Jayne hat!

The Hero of Canton, the man we call Peeg.

About gallifreycraftingcompany

I love and train flying monkeys, color with copics, scrapbook what I color, read like a fiend and enjoy every minute of it. I'm a New Yorker that sought better weather, and I enjoy crafting outside by my pool and walking the beach.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Hero of Canton, The Man They Call Jayne!

  1. Your hat looks fabulous! Great job šŸ™‚

  2. larelyn says:

    OMG – love the hat, love Peeg, and love the story. You are just so special! And all I can knit is yards and yards of what I call scarves LOL.

  3. Karon H says:

    You did a really fabulous job – we loved the Firefly series and this is awesome. Great post. TFS

Leave a Reply

