We Get By With a Little Help From Our Friends. (Fundraiser for Guy Gondron)

Hey there, strangers that I haven’t seen in almost a year! More about that another time. I’ve something important that dragged me out of blogger purgatory.

You all know Guy Gondron, who has given this blog so many wonderful freebies to hand out. This is Uncle Guy with my youngest daughter, Halle. This is Uncle Guy AFTER he beat Stage IV tonsil cancer. No matter what life, and cancer, threw at Guy, he kept his smile. Things were looking up, he got his old job back that he loved, and he was painting again for a living.

Uncle Guy and Halle, Stinky's probably squished in there too.

Uncle Guy and Halle, Stinky’s probably squished in there too.

What I didn’t mention about Guy, a fact that he is far too humble to share, is that fact that while he was going through cancer treatment, and the financial crisis that followed, is that he took care of a disabled friend through it all. Guy is THAT guy (pun intended). If you asked him for the shirt off his back, he’d give it to you. Then he’d ask you to wait while he went to get you three more from his closet.

So, when Halle’s birthday rolled around, I asked if he would doodle me a stamp of her Lovey, appropriately named Stinky, so that I could make her an extra special birthday card. Guy, being THAT guy, drew her an entire coloring book. Yup, he made my four year old a custom coloring book based on her best friend in the whole world. I’ll give you a moment to process that, and wipe the tears.  Here was Halle’s reaction:

She was so excited about that card that I couldn't keep her still to take the picture.

She was so excited about that card that I couldn’t keep her still to take the picture.

Oops, you wanted to see Stinky and the actual card?

There ya go.

There ya go.

Shortly after the most amazing birthday present ever, Guy became sick again. No, not cancer, thank God. Here’s what happened in Guy’s own words:
“On Sept. 11, after months of minor and major symptoms, I was diagnosed with Autoimmune Dermatomyositis, a muscle disorder related to my cancer. The symptoms include muscle wasting, muscle and joint pain, and, if untreated, will lead to life in a wheelchair or bed. On Sept. 17, just a week later, I was laid off, despite having started the application process for the Family Medical Leave Act. On Sept. 19th, I found out that Arizona has zero Medicaid coverage for adults without dependents.”

No politics please. This is my friend’s life, and it is worth so much more that cheap political debates. The point to take away is that without financial support to get the health care he needs (and since his employer basically fired him for being sick), and to meet his basic needs, Guy will become permanently disabled, possibly to the extent of not painting again. This wonderful artistic genius, who has blessed us all with his digital stamps, over and over again, could really use our help.

I wish I were a millionaire, to take care of this for him. I wish I could give him a kidney and make this all better. Unfortunately, life isn’t that simple. I cannot help Guy on my own, but we can all do it together. Because he’s THAT Guy, he’s not even asking you to donate your money without giving you something in return. If you go HERE, for $5, you can have Halle’s coloring book, filled with wonderful “Stinky” images, so you can make really cute cards like this one:

Stinky McStinkerson.

Stinky McStinkerson. I made that!

For many of us, $5 is a cup of coffee and a bagel on the way to work. For Guy, all of our $5 put together may keep his lights on, or make a payment to a doctor. Here are all of the adorable images that he’s doodled:
stinkOnce again, you can purchase those images here.
If you are able to do more than $5, and have no need for the stamps, you can donate directly to Guy HERE.

Thank you all for your love and support.

About gallifreycraftingcompany

I love and train flying monkeys, color with copics, scrapbook what I color, read like a fiend and enjoy every minute of it. I'm a New Yorker that sought better weather, and I enjoy crafting outside by my pool and walking the beach.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to We Get By With a Little Help From Our Friends. (Fundraiser for Guy Gondron)

  1. protoguy says:

    You should be the next Doctor that’s how awesome you are.

  2. DebraK in Florida says:

    I tried to go directly to the donate page but the page wasn’t found. Could you please check it and repost the link if there is a problem? thank you!

Leave a Reply

