The Smash Book of Misfit Images. (Digi Stamp Freebie)

Confession: the coloring part is my favorite. I am in love with my Copics and enjoy coloring everything that I can. Laying out cards and scrapbook layouts runs a distant second. So, with each new release, I usually wind up with several fully colored, homeless images.

My daughter and I have been Smash booking together, so the idea hit me to create a Smash book for all of the misfit images I have left over after each stamp release. I’ve started with the Mythology set, and included my color selections, and details about the other projects that found homes outside of the book.

Books like these are not only a great keepsake to remember my DT work, it also lets me track my progression as a colorist, and remember good color combinations. The Smash book is from K&Co., the images are Guy Gondron for CMS.

Mythology Page of the Smash Book of Misfit Images

Close up, Page 1

Mythology Page 2

I hope this inspires you to start your own catalog of misfit images! Here’s a cute little griffin from our Mythology set to get you started! (As a side note, you are welcome to “pin” any of the projects and tutorials that appear on this blog onto Pinterest, but our artists would appreciate it if you did NOT pin our freebies. Thank you!)

About gallifreycraftingcompany

I love and train flying monkeys, color with copics, scrapbook what I color, read like a fiend and enjoy every minute of it. I'm a New Yorker that sought better weather, and I enjoy crafting outside by my pool and walking the beach.
This entry was posted in Copic Markers, Digital Stamps, Freebie, Paper Crafting. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The Smash Book of Misfit Images. (Digi Stamp Freebie)

  1. Shelley says:

    This is such an awesome idea! I have wanted a smash book ever since they came out with them but couldn’t think of anything as it’s theme. This is a terrific theme! I have a little copic book I made a few months ago (you can see on my blog) but I like the idea of documenting all the things I have colored that really had no purpose…other than I love to color. Like you, the cards and such are secondary. (I shouldn’t probably admit that since I am on your Design Team) Thank you for this inspiration! I am buying a Smash book!

    • Colleen says:

      Ooh you go Shelley! Smash books for everyone!
      (Btw, I LOVE to hear when people like coloring more than card making, makes me feel less lonely!)

  2. Jeanine says:

    Great idea I have a Smash book and didn’t really know what to do with it, actually I had an idea I just hadn’t done anything. I agree with the Copic’s progression I started a Copic book that I made myself years ago and keep adding to it.
    thanks for the griffin.

  3. larelyn says:

    Wow, Colleen – what a fantastic idea! I really need to start writing down my colors and this is a really super idea for “card-less” images. Hmmmmm? Some of mine aren’t even colored – maybe a smash-coloring book for me.

  4. I really don’t see this guy and a misfit, but not sure exactly who I would send him to. I have a bunch of images colored, but are in an accordion file – filed by subject. Thank you for the great image and the Smash book!

  5. Dionne says:

    I like the ideal of using a Smash book. I have a 3ring binder with some of the trail images I color. Sometimes I color just for the practice and it ends up in the binder. You might see a smash book from me soon.

  6. Joynana says:

    What a great idea. I just recently bought 2 smash books and have started one for this year… I love to scrap book, but sometimes I don’t want to do big pages with all the trappings, Smash books are more laid back and you just go with the flow. Love images that you colored and added….. isn’t that tape fabulous. Thanks for the images.

  7. Elaine L. says:

    That’s a great image! Thanks!

  8. Suvenkorento says:

    A griffin 😮 I love this one! Thank you for the freebie :*

  9. B says:

    Love this – thank you!

  10. Danielle says:

    LOVE this image.. thanks so much for sharing it.

  11. Teresa says:

    Thank you!

  12. txgrandma says:

    Great book. Thanks for the image!

  13. Ceri says:

    thank you love this cute griffin, the books a great idea too!

  14. marykay says:

    I have to totally agree with you on that one. I to have a ton of homeless colored images. Well until now they didnt really have a name but homeless is the perfect name for them. thanks for the free digi from guy. always awesome

Leave a comment